Board of Selectmen

-A A +A

The board of selectmen is commonly the executive arm of the government of New England towns in the United States. The board typically consists of three or five members, with or without staggered terms. Three is the most common number, historically.

The basic function consists of calling town meetings, proposing budgets to Town Meeting, setting public policy, calling elections, licensing, appointing and supervising department heads and employees, setting certain fees, overseeing certain volunteer and appointed bodies, and creating basic regulations.
In larger towns, the selectmen's daily administrative duties are delegated to a full-time town administrator or town manager. In some towns, the board of selectmen acts more like a city council, but retains the historic name.
In some places, such as Connecticut, the head of the board of selectmen is the first selectman, who historically has served as the chief administrative officer of the town and may be elected separately from the rest of the board. Sometimes this is a part-time position, with larger towns hiring a full-time town administrator, who answers to the first selectman. In some towns and cities, the first selectman exercises the powers typically associated with mayors. In Massachusetts and New Hampshire, the presiding selectman is usually called the chairman and is chosen annually by his or her fellow selectmen.

Board Members

Name Title
Michael R. Criss First Selectman
Evan Brunetti Second Selectman
J Richard Fowler Third Selectman
Syndicate content